Tuesday, April 7, 2009

#6 School!

You know what I really really like about Japanese people? Their exactness concerning time. There's no slack off time that must be calculated in, so it's almost like programming. No wonder they're so good at organizing things.
That being said, well, today was my first "school day"! Why the quotation marks? 'Cause there weren't really any lessons. And although I thought I had mastered the way to school by far, I took wrong directions 2 times. 2 times for god's sake! That could've killed me (would I be late). Well, fortunately everything went fine. On about the second half of the way I met other students (mostly girls), some were from my school, and some were from Kou High (jap.: "kôkôkô"). Arriving at school I quickly changed my T-Shirt for the plain white shirt which belongs to the uniform, and then made a short self-introduction together with Ben (AFS student from L.A.) and Ari-san(also AFS, from Chile, dunno her real name lol) in front of the teachers. Then we got like, lots of information concerning our coming school year, I've forgotten most of it already. Then, 自己紹介 (jikoshôkai) in front of my new class (2年E組) for the 2nd time, and then we.. well we started cleaning the school o.o I was kinda surprised by that, because usually it's like, big cleaning before holidays, and that's it, but well, welcome to the country of opposition (ah, I could tell ya so many anecdotes about that). But it was fun anyway. Learned a tongue twister from one of the teachers (=
And then came the opening ceremony. Most fun thing was watching half of the boys falling asleep during the principals speech, and getting "woken up" again by, let's say, patrolling teachers. I don't even remember how many bows we did there. Anyway. Third and last self-introduction, in front of the whole school.
For lunch I bought myself a chocolate-bread-something and ichigo(strawberry)-milk. Yummy. After that some more time spent in my homeroom class doing nothing, and then we were off to go home. Actually, the guy from L.A. isn't in my class, because for some weird reason I dunno anymore he was put into first grade. That's a bit of a shame, because talking in English with him is so much easier than with the girl from Chile, who coincidentally was put into the same class as me. My class teacher.. man, I was really surprised. Like, when people tell you "dude, don't believe in Anime, the real Japan out there is more different than you might think", you don't need to believe them. Sometimes things are so similar to what you've seen on screen, you won't trust your senses. My teacher dresses like a teenager, speaks like one and even behaves a bit like one. Her English is really good, and so are her looks. Yeah, really, pretty teachers do exist after all.
One thing that REALLY got annoying after some time was everyone commenting on my height. You don't know what a burden it is to stick out in a Japanese society. I think I even met a girl that was half my height. Not kiddin'. But if I'm lucky, that'll settle down after a while.
Well then, tomorrows a test only day, meaning tests in almost 10 subjects. I volunteered for the English one(s). Wonder how it's gonna turn out.. hehe, it'd be too funny if I got more points than all those students spending their spring holidays with study. By the way, pictures of my uniform will follow soon (=

No comments: