I think what I'll have most problems with over the time is waking up for school. It's already hard to get myself out of the bed while I'm still on holidays, partly because of the cold. Since the walls of Japanese houses aren't really made for keeping warmth inside, it usually takes only half an hour till your room reaches the same temperature as the air outside. What I'm currently doing every morning is using the moment I open my eyes for the first time (usually far far away from me actually standing up), running to the oil-using heater, turning it on and going back to sleep.
Today I'm all alone at home because my parents are at work and my brother is at school, not for class but for preparing the 入学式 (nyûgakushiki), the opening ceremony held for all those new at the school (except the exchange students), which is on the 6th. So for me, school starts on the 7th.
The day before yesterday I went to a Shabu-shabu restaurant with my mother, my brother, 2 of his friends (Ren-kun and Kôta-kun) and their mums. What is Shabu-shabu? Well, I didn't know it either at first. Turned out it was pretty similar to Sukiyaki, but with different types of soups in which you cook the meat and vegetables. It was pretty fun and so OMG tasty!! Plus, it was a 放題 (hôdai) restaurant, which translates into "All you can eat". Kôta-kun made some weird puns, like 「大好嫌い」 (dai-sukirai) or 「いい加減にホワイト!」 (ii kagen ni white!), and also taught me a bit more of Mikawa's dialect.
Today morning a weird misunderstanding happened to me: The night before it was really windy, and I mean so windy that you were able to hear it through the walls. So I told my mum about it at breakfast, and then she suddenly asked me if I had a nightmare or something, almost laughing. Anyone got what happened? Well, I used the word 強風 (kyôfû), strong wind, apparently not giving the "u" at the end enough time, so what she had understood was 恐怖 (kyôfu) "fear". Such silly things kinda happen to me all the time.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment