I already stopped counting the times people told me how I'm always gonna be stared at before I came to Japan. Wrong. It's the exact opposite: People treat me like anybody else, but I'm the one staring at everyone.
This is just one of many misconceptions I had that proved to be wrong the last few days, just like I thought I'd be totally confused by left-hand traffic. Culture shock? Not even in sight. Someone just told me it will still follow; well, I'll wait til school starts, not longer than that.
2 days ago (I think) I met Ren-kun, a friend of my brother Ryousuke, together with him and another YFU exchange student from Switzerland, and we went for lunch at some kind of fast food ramen bar. Although I thought the girl, finally meeting someone who speaks her mother tongue, would talk to me all the time, she didn't say a word unless I asked her something. Weird people do exist, hu. After eating ramen we didn't do much more except for going to the CD section of the department store and ordering D'espairsRays new album for me.
Yesterday I went to Mito High (the school I'll be attending to) together with my mother for a bit orientation. Except for me and the 2 other AFS exchange students that'll also attend there were a lot of Junior High students. Anyway, about the AFS guys: a boy from America who speaks a bit Japanese and a girl from Chile who doesn't at all. My schoolway will be by bike and'll take about 30 minutes (looking forward to wind and rain >.>), and I have to be at school at 8:15 on the first day to introduce myself to teachers and students (usually it's 8:30). Oh yeah, a lot of things are taboo here, like make-up, magaizines, chewing gum and sniffing glue. Yes, you read that right. These guys have some weird experiences with drugs..
Hell, I have absolutely NO idea what club I should join. Kendô is out of question because I fail at Seiza, and Kyûdô seems to hard. Yet, there is no Shodô club.. I'm so screwed. Maybe I should join the Badmington club after all. Meh, I still got 2 weeks to think about that (school starts 04.07.). After that we went to the.. eh.. citizen something office, dunno what it's called in english, and requested my Alien Registration. For some reason the man behind the counter was totally wtf when I wrote out my host family's address using Kanji (it's really not that hard). Well, now I'll have to wait till 16th of April, and then I can stop carrying around a copy of my passport.
Today me and Ryousuke went to the local post office, where I was finally able to cash my traveler checks, hell, the other bank required me to have my Alien Registration done before I could do so; why would you need THAT for TRAVELER checks? I'm not gonna wait half a month to get money. Again, the guy at the counter was wth when I wrote our address, but happily everything went fine, and now I even have a 5k en banknote (omg I still can't believe a picture of a woman actually made it there, I'm not an anti-fem, but this is the Japanese Society, c'mon). Fortunately even my cash card works there *rakki*.
Soon the sakura will also start blooming around my area, and this is definitely gonna be awesome. They have something called a "sakura-tunnel" here, which is a simple road between sakura trees that continues about 1km. The sakura forecast (similar to a weather forecast) said they'll bloom in about 2 days I think.
Sooo.. what else is there to tell about.. hm, maybe I'll just put some random pics in here and end it with that. Go-chisou-sama deshita.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)





1 comment:
Sakura forecast...my, my.
lol@the cat
Post a Comment