Heyo, what's up. It's been a few days since my last post, and I'm already with my host family for 2 days. Well, all I can say is... they're AWESOME. Really nice people, totally (in my opinion) easy-going compared to what I was taught about Japanese families, and they even went through all the trouble of clearing a room for me. Right now I am sitting in said room listening to a bit J-Pop and drinking tea, so let me try to summarize what happened meanwhile:
The Arrival Orientation ended more or less unspectaculary, except for the farewell party and Japanese fashion show our senpais held. When my shinkansen arrived in Nagoya the next day, I got nervous for the very first time in Japan, and after meeting my hostfam we went to a traditional restaurant together. Later at my new home, I was greeted by our dog Shiro, and our cat Mi-chan, and shown around the rooms. The next day, my mother and brother went to department store together to get my uniform ready. Somehow they managed to find one in my size (don't ask me how, lol; pics will follow). In the evening we had a kind of "welcome party" together at another restaurant together with my grandmother. Sukiyaki is the best after all ^.^ And today we're going to buy my a bike.
That's about it.. hm, there're so many things I already like here, for e.g. the "instant water boiler" (dunno what its actual name is), allowing me to drink as much tea as I want whenever I like to, or the train passing our house every 20min or so. Many people, including my host parents, probably think of this rather as an annoyance, but I really like it, I have no idea why.. gives me a nostalgic feeling. What else.. oh yeah!! The bathroom. I already knew this before, but now I'm 100% sure: every household needs a washiki (Japanese style) bathroom; they're just simply the best, both in hygiene and comfortableness.
Only thing that's troubling me right now is that I can't change in my traveler checks unless I have my 外国人登録 (gaikokujintouroku, alien registration) done, and that is due to Wednesday. Whatever.. todays gonna be a sunny day (yesterday it rained all the time), so I'm already looking forward to it. It's time for lunch soon, so I'll stop here (and eventually upload some pics later), so see ya!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
yay, finally the long-awaited Watanuki-look-alike pictures are close (the school uniform pics).
Washiki, sukiyaki and instant water boilers....lol..all the stuff I've only seen in manga and anime.
Glad you are comfrotable in your new "home" and with your hostfam though.
Post a Comment