Monday, June 1, 2009

Engllish camp and other "events"

Alright, it's been around a week now, but in this short amount of time more has happened than during the whole last month. So.... where should I start? Let's see.. oh yeah, I've got all my tests back! And guess what, I even reached my own goal for them: 34/100 on literature and 25/100 on history! Yay =3
The other tests were ok I guess, 89 points for General English and 97 for Current English; I don't remember how I did on the Japanese one because it was just too random and pointless.
After the exam period had finished on Thursday (week before last one), we went on an 遠足 (ensoku -> "trip") to a big aquarium in Nagoya. Actually I can't really remember having been to one and I didn't expect it to be that great, it turned out to be a lot of fun because I somehow got dragged along by the girls I had lost contact with and this finally got us back to talking to each other again. There was even a dolphin show, which was pretty lame because the "be happy" music playing all the time was too loud and kinda ruined the experience for me. They had a really big flat screen in the background, and before the show started the camera man would just randomly zoom at people from the audience; the funniest moments were those when they didn't even notice xD Also I learned another useless and random word, 反響定位 (hankyô teii -> echo location). At the end I also finally got to do my first puri-kura^^
What then started five days later was the long awaited English Camp. It was held in a place called 青年の家 (seinen no ie -> "house of youths"), and on entering the building everyone was giving their best to use as much English as they could. So far, so good. We then sat in a kind of class room and listened to a compelling speech by our principal how he started learning English in his young days with nothing more than a dictionary his father had given him. After the speech, right when the "English Mood" was at its peak, the youth hostel's head came in and destroyed it all by giving a long and boring explanation about every detail of the place, even as how to fold used sheets correctly so their dirty side doesn't show, in Japanese. What a great start, I thought. Then our "Language Teachers", the AETs (forgot what the abbreviation actually stood for) introduced themselves to us: 2 women, one from Kanada with Chinese ethnicity and one from the US with Vietnamese ethnicity, a guy from Jamaica and finally Justin, the half Chinese American whom we already knew because he works as an Assistant Language Teacher at our school. Our class was then divided into four groups each following one of the AETs. Then we read our speeches in front of the group and decided on two people from each one who would deliver it in front of the whole class, and finally the AETs decided on 3 winners. Somehow the teachers had totally forgotten about the exchange students who were supposed to give a speech in Japanese, so me, Tsutomu-kun (formerly known as "Ben") and Ari-san barely managed to do it after lunch due to the strict time table. What we would do next is the so called "Show and Tell": You basically explain a random object that has some sort of relation to you in front of others (I talked about my NDS ^^v).
Well, all in all a lot of stuff happened, later on we wrote so called "skits", short, humorous plays, which all turned to be hella funny, except for my group's one, which was kinda weird. Basically it was the story of Yûji who went to a place called "Wonder Island" to find a girlfriend. Now guess what wonderful roles I was playing in this awesome masterpiece: First an ATM, then a flower and finally a dog. Although I climbed the ladder of evolution quite high, I didn't make it to a human role. Or something like that. At least people laughed at some parts that were unexpectedly funny, so it wasn't a total failure. Hopefully >.>" But besides this there was some other cool stuff, like the RPG-like Quest Game on the second day where the AETs and exchange students were turned into NPCs with two quests each for the 4 groups to conquer, while 2 bosses (Justin and Ernesta, the guy from Jamaica) were waiting for them. Another fun moment was when the Japanese teens were exposed to "Truth or Dare". I don't know too much about the other groups, but nobody in my group ever chose Dare, and at some point someone actually got asked "What did you do on the weekend?" like wtf? xD At night me, some AETs and a few girls would always play NDS games wirelessly, everyone being in their rooms. On the first morning it rained heavily, so morning assembly was held in the gym. What happened was the usual stuff I was used from school, standing in rows at attention and greeting the hostel's head, when he suddenly brought a big speaker and played the national anthem 「君が代」 (Kimi ga yo). I was like "shit, I completely forgot to memorize the lyrics before coming to Japan", but luckily in the end nobody actually sung, simply listening to the music. After that we even did the same lame radio gymnastics we do at school (some of the AETs even bursted out laughing, and I couldn't blame them in the least). On the second morning the sky had cleared up and we finally met on the outside assembly ground. Basically the exact same stuff happened as the day before, except for the fact that I, Ari-san and Kôta-kun ran up the flags at the front, with me doing the 日の丸 (Hinomaru, national flag), while the anthem was playing. It was an interesting feeling I must say, different from national pride I never felt before though^^
The camp was fun, but short. Way to short. My expectations of everyone trying their best in English were mostly disappointed; most of the guys didn't really bother most of the time to use it, there were only a few girls who did, but they again tried with all their might. Don't worry, you can include me in the bunch that never bothered. At first it was easy because we were joking around a lot, but when we really needed to communicate I didn't try once to use English >.<
One thing I am absolutely happy about tho is that I was able to meet Weija, the Chinese Canadian who was our groups AET. Through some coincidence at the beginning of the camp I found out she's into all that Visual Kei stuff as well, and she was the first person I was able to have a real conversation about almost any band I know. Even better, she told me lynch. (one of my absolute favorite bands) is going to perform in a newly built hall in Toyohashi(!), which compared to Nagoya(1.5 hours), is only about 20 min away, and she'd even help me with getting the ticket. I still can't believe I've run into her, but now that concert at the end of July is something I am looking forward to all the time.

So, that's it for the "long anticipated" English camp; I was planning to stop here, but this was about a week ago as I haven't been able to finish writing because of club activities, homework and tiredness. Anyway, I went to Nagoya again yesterday (6月8日) for an orientation that was held for the Japanese exchange students going abroad this summer. At first we (the foreign xstudents) were told to hang somewhere outside because they'd have some information session for around an hour or two, so we went to a gaming center together with two returnees (former Japanese xstudents) taking purikura and wasting our money on impossible games (I spent 15 bucks trying to get a Evangelion bed sheet, in vain T_T). Then we went back to the building YFU was using and did some exercise with the other students, like introducing somebody else or having an "English Shower" where one Japanese student would have to try to get the attention of a whole group talking and bring himself into the conversation (which I found pretty good). The funny thing was that we (the foreigners) were told we were basically supposed to let the Japanese students realize they absolutely suck at English and it's completely different from what they're used at school, and for some reason the returnees were totally surprised I knew the word 無慈悲 (mujihi), which I used to describe them xD (it means "merciless").
After everything had finished we all went to 大須 (Ôsu), a kind of shopping district in Nagoya, taking more purikura, eating dinner and just playing around. I talked to the two students who are going to Germany most of the time, telling them about school, mindset, food, and a lot of other random things that came to my mind. From what I heard one thing they're already looking forward to is beer, and they almost shit their pants when I told them they might end up drinking every weekend depending on the friends they make xD (c'mon it's true isn't it).
That's one we took in Ôsu (the upper left 2 guys are the ones going to Germany). Oh by the way, take a look at Mami-senpai (a returnee) in the lower left corner. How old do you think she is? My best guess was around 24, and till now everyone I asked said the same, but she's actually a friggin' 3rd grader in high school (!!).
After eating dinner at a Chinese restaurant we then returned home, and again there was no time left for that crap load of things I wanted to do on the weekend (Kanji training, HW, reading those Zelda mangas Hina-san lent me). Right now as I am typing my sleeping time is steadily sinking below 5 hours, so I'll just cut off here. Bye =)

Monday, May 25, 2009

Random fun with Mi

This is Mi, or Mi-chan as everyone calls her. I have no idea what kind of breed she is, but she's 3 years old and hyper-active most of the time. Sometimes she'll just run around the house and the stairway for no apparent reason, attacking random objects like stuffed toys, trash, our dog or people's feet. Since you can access the balcony from my room, she makes me open the door for her to go out onto the rooftop and back a lot of the time. Oh, and she doesn't like having herself stroked (trying that will get your hand attacked as well).

Recorded this a while ago but forgot to upload it xD Sorry



(That was after the mattress thing x3)

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

憩いの広場に休憩

Puh! Exams are almost over. On Monday I wrote Current English (楽勝 - Simplicity Overkill), Tuesday there weren't any I took (-> slept in E-Room, a room we exchange students were allowed to use in our free time), and today I jumped over the big Literature-History hurdle. Screwed up my leg, but I got over. I finished off half of the Literature test (easiest thing being the Kanji questions lol), and skipped the other half because it was composed of pure impossibility, still barely making it in time. History... pure fail. Although I spent around 8 hours the day before deciphering (as in writing down vocab with eng. translation into my note) two pages of my textbook filling 7 note pages (!), having me at least understand what's going on, I didn't manage to memorize any names, and the two textbook pages were only half of the study material as well. But I did manage to fill in around 20% of the test sheet, so if everything I did write should happen to be correct, I'd have at least reached my goal. Conclusion: Schedule around 2 whole days cramming if you want to have at least a chance. What's left is tomorrow with General English (not even worth learning for) and.. Japanese. As I said before, I have 4 different teachers, so the test will include: (1) Old Japanese months and 3rd grade Kanji, (2) Terms for family members and jobs + the stuff I, Ben and Ari (her real name is Allison btw.) did on Golden Week, (3) an excerpt of a novel and (4) memorizing and composing a kid's song about Hiragana. Now if that won't come in handy someday! =D
Also, from tomorrow, clubs resume their training... meaning no free time anymore )= As for that, I am looking forward to the next exam period.
Last Sunday I went to Nagoya for the very first YFU meeting after the arrival one. Unfortunately, my hostmum was occupied with a municipal meeting, so only my hustdad went with me. Why unfortunately? Well, since they discussed possible problems and how the students are doing in general with YFU reps, I found it a bit awkward to get represented by only my dad whom I see like, 2 hours at most per day, as opposed to my mum which I spent at least twice of that with, so I think there's a lot more she knows about me. Not trying to bad-mouth my hostdad, I was just slightly disappointed. The meeting itself wasn't that interesting, a short introduction of everyone, then we, the students, were more or less baby sit by the returnees while the parents had their discussion. Of course somewhere in between the question "Did you have any hardships or troubles?" popped up, but nobody was likely to talk about that in front of everyone. Nevertheless, it was interesting to meet all the people again with who I've had departed to Aichi-ken. One thing that really surprised me was that everyone was giving their best trying to communicate in Japanese, not using English a single time (except when it was necessary). Even Caroline, the only one from Germany besides me, talked to me in Japanese from the very start. I really can't describe the feeling of being able to communicate with a lot of different people without using English, but it was awesome, just awesome. At the end we exchanged cellphone addresses and stuff.

Today was a nice day. It was almost too warm, having those 2 tests behind me felt unexpected relieving and, since the day was still young and we had nothing to do, me, Ben and Ari ended up climbing up the mountain behind our school and chill out a bit. Lately we've barely had any opportunity to talk about all the things we want to, and this was the perfect chance. Too bad I forgot to bring my camera to school, I really wanted to catch the view you get from atop. You can see my city Toyokawa, the neighboring one Toyohashi where Ben lives, and the beautiful outlet of Mikawa-Bay (which I really have to visit once). I know that YFU and generally anyone having experience with exchange years strongly discourages hanging out with other ex.students, but somehow it feels indescribable easing talking to them both (not especially because they're my comrades, but because of their personality), since we all naturally have our problems here and there, like Ari who can barely communicate with her host mum due to her lack of basic Japanese skill, or Ben who's having a hard time making up with his host sister after a lot of initial misunderstandings, and finally me. For some reason my relation to my host brother seems to get worse from day to day, for no apparent reason. But it clearly shows in the amount of conversation we have. That's one thing on which we three agree really sucks at times about Japanese people: Their partial inability to tell you if there's something on their mind, letting it grow inside of them without any visible signs at first, and then quietly breaking through the surface. I think I didn't mention that yet, but my host brother's going to the USA in a bit more than 2 months (hence his family accepted me in return), which is quite funny at times because I get to relive all those moments of becoming an exchange student, like receiving your host family's address, dealing with all the visa crap, writing your first letter and all that. But I really don't want to say god bye to him having unsolved problems in between. He really is a person that's hard to get through emotionally, and that's something I'm not extraordinary skilled at. Besides all that, there happened some certain things between me and a girl from my class; well, I won't go into detail, but let's say I almost completely lost interaction with some of the girls in my class I liked to talk to most, no, more than that, they were the only ones I could really talk to. Here come the problems I've been longing for.... not to be too depressive! It's really hard for me to notice it myself, but my Japanese is steadily improving I think. I just love how easy thoughts come flowing out of my mouth naturally, and the feeling of reading texts written for average Japanese students and actually understanding them is indescribable.
There are so many things small things that kinda make me a little bit happy every day, even if it's just the rice plants steadily growing (the whole scene actually looks really incredible to me, especially at night when the moon is being reflected on the flooded fields), the view of an overflowing Otowagawa when crossing over Minamidahashi on a rainy day or just some random girls greeting me at school.

Recently I finished watching a J-Drama from 2005 entitled 「1リットルの涙」 (1 liter of tears) about a 15-year-old girl that suddenly started suffering from an incurable disease slowly and steadily paralyzing her whole body (spinocerebellar ataxia), whereas her character "Ikeuchi Aya" and most of the story are based on a real diary which also served as the dramas name, written by Kitô Aya (木藤亜也) around 40 years ago. As such, most of the characters were also directly taken out of it, and at the end of each episode there are quotes from it and pictures of the real Aya. Although for the most part I dislike Japanese drama because of its overdose of (often) artificial emotions and empathy wringing music, I really enjoyed this one because I never really felt any of the aspects mentioned before (although the character falling in love with Aya wasn't real), and for those who don't know it yet, I sincerely recommend it. Because I've been only able to see it subbed on YouTube, I think I'll go to Tsutaya (one of the main rental shops in Japan) on a free day, lend it and copy it.

Friday, May 15, 2009

東京トリップ - Photos


Omg forgive me for just shooting randomly, I really really suck when it comes to photos (°∀°)""

(Views from the.. I think 46th floor or something?)
(No idea what that is, but it's golden and behind glass =3)
(Kaminarimon)
(Sorry for sticking my ugly face in there, just wanted to show you my onii-san ^^"
He really doesn't look like an university student, does he?)



(The incense of salvation... or w/e)
(Inside the temple)
(O-mikuji!)

(が~~~~ん T.T)

(Koinobori, usually done on Children's Day, May 5th)




(Nyoron~)







(Notice the adress of this thing, "Ichikawa-shi Ichikawa 2-3-7")
(Which is where my niichan's apartment stands)
(Blurred view from the hotel window)
(This just so reminded me of Lost in Translation, especially the ad shooting scene xD
The Japanese roughly says "This water may as well be used by you as drinking water")
(From here on it's Ginza)





(That kinda looked expensive)



(Shibuya)







(From here it's Harajuku)





(The 15 buck burger)

(Fcuking frenchmen being everywhere; weird enough this shop uses the British flag as its logo)




(Gothloli district)




(And a crowded Harajuku train station; seeing this we decided to go by foot)